Vogue Paris Foundation 2017

For the fourth consecutive year, Palais Galliera and the Vogue Paris Foundation have renewed a sustained acquisition policy that has been made possible through the generosity of many of the brands found on the current fashion landscape.

Thanks to this effort, the Museum of Fashion of the City of Paris is proud to significantly increase the Department of Contemporary Fashion. Over 80 items by Martin Margiela have been added to an already extensive collection concerning one of the most influential designers of our time, to whom Palais Galliera wished to pay tribute in 2018.

A coat by Mariano Fortuny, which is typical of the Spanish couturier’s print work, will now be housed in the museum reserves. This fourth edition has also enabled acquiring the second part of Colette’s correspondence with the couturier Lucien Lelong. Gowns and hats by Cristóbal Balenciaga have been added to these exemplary works and are currently exhibited at the Bourdelle Museum. Comme des Garçons models by Junya Watanabe will also join the list of numerous donations that the various houses of haute couture and ready-to-wear have once again generously provided.

Vogue Paris Foundation 2017

 

Pour la quatrième année consécutive, le Palais Galliera et la Vogue Paris Foundation renouvellent une politique d’acquisition soutenue, rendue possible grâce à la générosité des nombreuses maisons qui constituent le paysage actuel de la mode.

Grâce à cet effort collectif, le Musée de la Mode de la Ville de Paris est fier d’accroître très significativement le département de la mode contemporaine. Plus de 80 pièces de Martin Margiela viennent augmenter un fonds déjà riche concernant un des plus influents créateurs de notre époque, auquel le Palais Galliera a souhaité rendre hommage en 2018.

Un manteau de Mariano Fortuny, typique du travail d’impression du couturier espagnol, trouvera refuge dans les réserves du Musée. Cette quatrième édition permet aussi d’acquérir la seconde partie de la correspondance que Colette entretint avec le couturier Lucien Lelong. Des robes et des chapeaux de Cristóbal Balenciaga s’ajoutent à ces œuvres exemplaires et sont exposées actuellement au Musée Bourdelle. Des modèles de Comme des Garçons, de Junya Watanabe rejoindront aussi la liste des nombreux dons que les maisons de haute couture et de prêt-à-porter ont cette année encore la générosité de susciter.