Gabrielle Chanel, Manifeste de Mode*

Exhibition book

  • Author : Miren Arzalluz et Véronique Belloir (book supervisors), Laurent Cotta, Julie Deydier, Caroline Evans, Sophie Grossiord, Marie-Laure Gutton, Marion Langlois, Régis Robert, Sylvie Lécallier, Alexandra Palmer, Olivier Saillard
  • Book format : hardcover book
  • Number of pages : 304
  • Number of Illustrations : 200 (Colour and black & white photographs by Julien Hamon, archival photos and documents)
  • Dimensions : 24,5 x 31 cm
  • ISBN : 978-2-7596-0452-4
  • Public price : 44,90 € (FR Standard) / 45 £ (UK) / 60 $ (US)
  • Available
Cover of the exhibition catalogue "Gabrielle Chanel, Fashion Manisfesto"

Book published on the occasion of the exhibition "Gabrielle Chanel, Manisfeste de Mode" (*"Gabrielle Chanel, a Fashion Manifesto") presented very soon at the Palais Galliera from 01 October 2020 to 14 March 2021 - Publishers: Paris Musées (French version) / Thames & Hudson (English version)

---

EDITORIAL by Miren Arzalluz, 
Director of the Palais Galliera and curator of the exhibition 

Gabrielle Chanel devoted her long life to creating, perfecting and promoting a new form of elegance based on freedom of movement, a natural and casual attitude, a subtle chic far from extravagance, a timeless style for a new woman. This is his "fashion manifesto", an inescapable and more than ever relevant heritage that the Palais Galliera presents today.

From the beginning of her career, in the early years of the 20th century and until the end of her life, Gabrielle Chanel rose up against the fashion imposed by her time. In her youth, Gabrielle Chanel reveals herself as a woman dandy, who goes from appropriation to the creation of clothing interpreting for women the comfort, functionality, sobriety and elegance of the male wardrobe. Through in-depth technical experimentation, reinterpreting the traditional tailor's craft while using highly supple fabrics such as jersey and tweed, she imposed her version of the suit and the little black dress in the 1910s. In the 1950s, they became symbols of a different kind of femininity on both sides of the Atlantic. Chanel developed its own recognizable and timeless style, which persists in the face of the ephemeral expressions that characterize fashion.

Chanel's style lies in the principles of comfort and respect for the female anatomy, but also in the details and chic elegance of its proposals. Refusing superfluous adornment, Chanel always makes a fair and audacious use of colours, materials and techniques, favouring balance and a harmonious vision of the whole. To the sophisticated sobriety of her clothes, she contrasts the opulence of her jewellery - inspired in particular by ancient or distant civilizations - with the way she wears them in abundance. Her perfume N° 5 will be a milestone in the history of perfumery, from its creation in 1921. This iconic perfume became the invisible but essential accessory for the modern woman.

Gabrielle Chanel became a legend during her lifetime, a legend that she herself wove and helped to develop throughout her career. As early as the 1930s, the French and international press echoed numerous biographical accounts that only served to accentuate the confusion deliberately maintained about her life and the fascination that her character already aroused.

Since his death in 1971, numerous writings have attempted to shed light on the different facets of his history and personality. All these works have sought to unravel the mystery of his origins, the keys to his success, his exchanges with the artistic scene as well as his sentimental relationships, and more recently, his conduct during historical events and in particular during the Second World War. All this has contributed to a better understanding of the complex personality of "Coco" Chanel, while at the same time provoking debate and controversy.

As a museum dedicated to fashion, we have chosen to focus the exhibition on the work of the seamstress, who became one of the most influential fashion designers of the 20th century. The exhibition Gabrielle Chanel, Manifeste de mode, the first retrospective dedicated to the designer organized in Paris, aims to analyze her professional career, the birth and evolution of her style, the characteristics of her work, her codes and her contribution to the history of fashion. 

---

This catalogue is on sale at the Palais Galliera's bookshop. 

If you would like to order it, we recommend you these web sites bellow :  
• La Boutique des Musées for the French version : www.boutiquesdemusees.fr
• Thames & Hudson for the English version : thamesandhudson.com

Gabrielle Chanel, Manifeste de Mode

Catalogue d'exposition

  • Auteur : Miren Arzalluz et Véronique Belloir (Sous la direction de), Laurent Cotta, Julie Deydier, Caroline Evans, Sophie Grossiord, Marie-Laure Gutton, Marion Langlois, Régis Robert, Sylvie Lécallier, Alexandra Palmer, Olivier Saillard
  • Exposition : GABRIELLE CHANEL. MANIFESTE DE MODE
  • Format livre : Relié
  • Nombre de pages : 304
  • Nombre d'Illustrations : 200 (Photographies couleurs et noir & blanc de Julien Hamon, photos et documents d'archives)
  • Dimensions : 24,5 x 31 cm
  • ISBN : 978-2-7596-0452-4
  • Prix public : 44,90 € (FR Standard) / 55 € (FR Coffret) / 45 £ (UK) / 60 $ (US)
  • Disponible
Couverture du catalogue d'exposition "Gabrielle Chanel, Manifeste de Mode"

Ouvrage publié à l'occasion de l'exposition "Gabrielle Chanel, Manisfeste de Mode" présentée très prochainement au Palais Galliera du 01 octobre 2020 au 14 mars 2021 - Editeurs : Paris Musées (version française) / Thames & Hudson (version anglaise)

---

ÉDITO par Miren Arzalluz, 
Directrice du Palais Galliera et commissaire de l'exposition : 

Gabrielle Chanel consacra sa longue vie à créer, perfectionner et promouvoir une nouvelle forme d’élégance fondée sur la liberté de mouvement, une attitude naturelle et désinvolte, un chic subtil éloigné des extravagances, un style atemporel pour une femme nouvelle. Tel est son "manifeste de mode", un héritage incontournable et plus que jamais d’actualité que le Palais Galliera présente aujourd’hui.

Dès le début de sa carrière, dans les premières années du XXe siècle et jusqu’à la fin de sa vie, Gabrielle Chanel s’élève contre la mode imposée par son époque. Dans sa jeunesse, Gabrielle Chanel se révèle en femme dandy, qui passe de l’appropriation à la création de vêtements interprétant pour les femmes, le confort, la fonctionnalité, la sobriété et l’élégance de la garde-robe masculine. À travers une expérimentation technique approfondie, réinterprétant le métier de tailleur traditionnel tout en employant des tissus d’une grande souplesse, tels le jersey et le tweed, elle impose dès les années 1910, sa version du tailleur et de la petite robe noire. Dans les années 1950, ils deviennent les symboles d’une autre féminité et ce, des deux côtés de l’Atlantique. Chanel développe un style propre, reconnaissable et intemporel, qui perdure face aux expressions éphémères qui caractérisent la mode.

Le style de Chanel réside dans les principes de confort et de respect de l’anatomie féminine, mais aussi dans les détails et l’élégance chic de ses propositions. Refusant l’ornement superflu, Chanel fait toujours un usage juste et audacieux des couleurs, des matières, des techniques, privilégiant l’équilibre et la vision harmonieuse de l’ensemble. À la sobriété sophistiquée de ses vêtements, elle opposera l’opulence de ses bijoux – inspirés notamment de civilisations anciennes ou lointaines – et sa façon de les porter en abondance. Son parfum N° 5 fera date dans l’histoire de la parfumerie, dès sa création en 1921. Ce parfum iconique devient l’accessoire invisible, mais essentiel, de la femme moderne.

Gabrielle Chanel devint une légende de son vivant, une légende qu’elle a elle-même tissée et qu’elle a contribué à développer tout au long de sa carrière. Dès les années 1930, la presse française et internationale se faisait l’écho de nombreux récits biographiques qui ne  firent qu’accentuer cette confusion volontairement entretenue au sujet de sa vie et la fascination que suscitait déjà son personnage.

Depuis sa disparition en 1971, de nombreux écrits ont tenté d’éclairer les différentes facettes de son histoire et de sa personnalité. Tous ces ouvrages ont cherché à percer le mystère de ses origines, les clés de son succès, ses échanges avec la scène artistique comme ses relations sentimentales, et plus récemment, sa conduite lors d’événements historiques et en particulier pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Tout ceci a contribué à une meilleure compréhension de la personnalité complexe de "Coco" Chanel, tout en suscitant débat et controverse.

En tant que musée consacré à la mode, nous avons choisi de concentrer le propos de l’exposition sur le travail de la couturière, devenue l’une des créatrices de mode les plus influentes du XXe siècle. L’exposition Gabrielle Chanel, Manifeste de mode, première rétrospective dédiée à la créatrice organisée à Paris, vise à analyser son parcours professionnel, la naissance et l’évolution de son style, les caractéristiques de son œuvre, ses codes et son apport à l’histoire de la mode. 

---

Ce catalogue est en ventre sur place, à la boutique du Palais Galliera. 

Si vous souhaitez le commander, nous vous recommandons : 
• La Boutique des Musées pour la version francaise : www.boutiquesdemusees.fr
>> Version française standard
>> Version française coffret
• Thames & Hudson pour la version anglaise : thamesandhudson.com